New York Collegiate Baseball League Begins Play

The New York Collegiate Baseball League, founded in 1978, is a summer wood bat development league for professional baseball.  Major League Baseball funds a portion of the league’s annual budget. The league gives college players who have not yet signed a professional contract the opportunity to develop their skills at a higher level of play, gain experience with wood bats and be evaluated by scouts. The NYCBL is located in scenic Upstate New York.

Teams play a 46-game regular season schedule with games beginning on May 30 and ending in late July.  All games are nine innings, with doubleheaders scheduled as two nine-inning games. The All-Star game is played in mid July, and the League Championship Series concludes in early August.  Two teams are located in Syracuse – great, enjoyable family fun.  Catch games this season via the league schedule here:

Check out the future of professional baseball this summer.

Former NYCBLers currently in the Major Leagues include: Hunter Pence, Rajai Davis, Michael Fiers, J.D. Martinez along with over 50 current Minor Leaguers.